Must-Play Remasters On PlayStation Plus

    - Advertisement -

    A New Year and A New Life is given to some of our favorite titles in gaming this month, and to kickstart the new year have selected some Must-Play Remasters On PlayStation Plus. Here we have selected a total of 7 games from 5 different franchises, 2 of our selections are continuations and are also available on the Subscription. For this reason, we have opted to include them to enjoy giving a boost to the start of 2024.

    Final Fantasy 7 Remake

    Must-Play Remasters On PlayStation Plus - Final Fantasy 7 Remake

    Re-immerse yourself in the Fantasy that, some could say, started a revolution in the gaming landscape. Once again play as the iconic Cloud Strife, who for some, define the Final Fantasy Franchise. This first installment from 2020/2021 will see Cloud’s adventure up until Midgar, if you happen to be a PS5 user, on the other hand, you will also gain access to the Intergrade and INTERmission DLC which expand the story and add new depth.

    The first part of a supposed trilogy that will make up the complete Final Fantasy 7 experience. Although it sounds short there is plenty of entertainment to have and seeing the game in a full 3D and highly realistic aesthetic is something else. Originally the game was a low polygonal and tight technical budget game on the original PlayStation system. Seeing the game remade and experienced in such quality that we have come to expect from the likes of Square Enix is more than what qualifies it for this list.

    - Advertisement -

    Developed and published by Square Enix, this remake has been a long time coming. Ever since Advent Children, the FF7 feature movie, many have wanted a reimagining of the iconic Final Fantasy, with the power of the PlayStation 4 and 5 we finally have that chance and it is everything that an FF fan could ask for, especially after the experience of FF15.

    Demon’s Souls

    The game that changed the lives of many PlayStation gamers and spawned its own genre, the Souls-Bourne. Demon’s Souls, first released in 2010 saw a vast lore and an in-depth world that was challenging and brutal, featuring not just undead but creatures out of fantasy like Dragons.

    Providing an excellent challenge and experience for players, this unique game left a lasting impression that could take months for gamers to complete. The uniqueness of the game made it a compelling game that lured the gamer into a false sense of security, pulling the gamer back for more punishment.

    - Advertisement -

    Originally developed by From Software and published by Sony Computer Entertainment, the remake was handled by Bluepoint Games, a famous Sony studio for remakes. Demon’s Souls is this author’s favourite among the Souls type games. There was something about the opening cinematic that resonated, and ignoring the Souls-Like mechanics, it is a fantastic adventure, and reliving that for the PS5 is something we highly recommend.

    Kingdoms Of Amalur: Re-Reckoning

    Return to Amalur in a fantastical adventure after 8 years, now on last-generation hardware. Everyone enjoys a fantasy adventure with creatures that couldn’t exist and magic, but Kingdoms of Amalur: Re-Reckoning has had some improvements since its days on PS3.

    - Advertisement -

    The Game takes place in the magical world of Amalur which has a predestined fate to be destroyed. To this end, the player takes control of the newly revived Fateless one whose role is to change the course of history and guide Amalur to a more agreeable outcome.

    Originally developed by Big Huge Games, and published by 38 Studios and EA, this remake was handled by Kaiko and Published by THQ Nordic. Spinning a tale not too dissimilar to God Of War’s protagonist Kratos, and his aim to change his fate in the original trilogy, this game highlights a more Dragon Age approach to the game.

    Destroy All Humans! & Destroy All Humans! 2 Reprobed

    Roswell, 1950s. The iconic and well-known alien conspiracy in the making, only from the alien’s point of view? Play as Crypto, a clone from the Furon race, who has come to earth in search of a viable and pure set of Furon DNA.

    Embarking on a quest for his species he changes over the decade he spends on earth and among the population. While the original game starts in the 50s and takes you through the Roswell incident it changes to show a secret organization in which Crypto destroys the way only a visitor from beyond the stars could. The second game takes place in the 60s during the peace movements where Crypto, now a member of the Furon race is an honourary human. This is short-lived as an ancient enemy of the Furons surfaces and bares its fangs against a lonely spaceman.

    Originally developed by Pandemic Studios and published by THQ, these remakes were handled by Black Forest Games and published by THQ. While it’s always enjoyable to hunt down aliens, mutations, or even undead as a human playing, as an alien hunting humans is a different kind of enjoyable, personally, we see a Deadpool influence in Cypto.

    Darksiders Series (Warmaster Edition & 2 Deathinitive Edition)

    For our final selection, this was a difficult one to arrive at however, we gave in to the hack’ n’ slash thrill of the Darksiders series. This was because we can play not just the first game remastered for PS4 but the Second one as well. Additionally, we are able to continue the experience into Darksiders 3 and Genesis which gives a total of 4 games for a selection only meant for a single Remaster/Remake.

    Darksiders follows the tale of one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse, and a sin that damned the world of men. The second game follows a different horseman on his quest to erase the sins set in motion in the first installment. Both titles are incredible stories on their own but when played in sequence it builds up to wanting to know the ending, sadly we are missing a “true” fourth installment which ties everything up nicely.

    Originally developed by Vigil Games and published by THQ, these games were handled by Kaiko and Gunfire Games and published by THQ Nordic and Nordic Games. Working through the story of the Horseman War he is called to earth when the seals maintaining the balance are broken. Death’s journey takes him on a different path, spanning realms and worlds beyond his understanding all connected by the Tree of Life.

    If you’re looking for more games to add to your collection, be sure to check out some of our other gaming lists. From in-depth reviews to top 10 type lists, we’ve got plenty of content to keep you entertained and informed.


    - Advertisement -

    Leave a reply

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    Leave the field below empty!

    Game Of The Week